Healthy Gingerbread Latte and Peppermint Mocha (Vegan option)

We’ve moved to http://www.healyrealfoodvegetarian.com! All the same recipes and content are there, so check us out!

Holiday Drinks

During the holidays all the big coffee shops have their special holiday drinks. It’s hard not to get swept up in the fun of the season and just cave in, but I have to remind myself of all the sugar and artificial flavors in these drinks and that I usually end up feeling awful after drinking something like that. Now, I’m as human as the next person; I cave to temptation from time to time, but often there’s no need to when my brain is constantly reminding me that I can make a healthier, cheaper and just as tasty version at home! A version that won’t result in a headache riddled sugar come-down. So, here’s my recipe for healthier home-made gingerbread latte and peppermint mocha!

Gingerbread Latte

Gingerbread Latte:

1 shot espresso (1 oz or about 1/8 cup)
1 tbsp palm sugar
1/4 tsp molasses
1/2 tsp all spice
about 1/2 cup whole grassfed and/or raw milk (enough to fill rest of glass)/ Substitute almond milk for vegan

photo-6

Peppermint Mocha:

1 shot espresso (1 oz or about 1/8 cup)
1 tbsp palm sugar
1 tbsp cocoa powder
scant 1/4 tsp peppermint extract
about 1/2 cup whole grassfed and/or raw milk (enough to fill rest of glass)/Substitute almond milk for vegan
peppermint candies or candy cane (optional)

1. To make espresso at home you can get a big expensive espresso maker (which I do not have) or you can get a stovetop espresso maker which will cost about $20. If you don’t often make espresso or don’t have an espresso maker you can always substitute the espresso for some very strong coffee. For this recipe I used a stovetop espresso maker and some Organic Coast Roast Coffee brand espresso which happens to be my aunt’s coffee company! It’s very delicious coffee by the way!

Coast Roast Coffee

Stovetop Espresso Maker

2. Once the espresso is done brewing begin to prepare the milk. I used somewhat of a double boiler for the milk. Put a small amount of water in a saucepan and then put a ceramic or metal pouring jug filled with milk in the water. Turn on the heat to medium. I found that this method resulted in better foamy milk that was closer to what you get at a coffee shop. At first I tried to just put the milk directly in a pan, but it get easily burnt this way. Milk seems to do better with indirect heat. To froth the milk you will need a milk frother which is another fun and inexpensive kitchen gadget to have. I think mine was about $5 at ikea. Let the milk heat up a bit before you froth it.

3.Gingerbread Latte: Pour 1 shot of espresso into an 8 oz. coffee mug then mix in the palm sugar, molasses and all spice.

Peppermint Mocha: Pour 1 shot of espresso into an 8 oz coffee mug then mix in the palm sugar, cocoa powder and peppermint extract.

Milk Frother

Milk frothing process

4. Once milk is warm use the frother to create foam. This also works for almond milk! Once you’ve gotten the foam to the desired consistency pour into the espresso mixture and stir, then spoon some of the remaining foam on top. For the gingerbread latte, sprinkle some cinnamon on top of the foam. For the peppermint mocha, you can sprinkle the foam with candy canes that have been processed in a food processor.

Follow Me on Pinterest

This recipe was included in the following blogs! Thanks for hosting!

Natural Living Mamma- Natural Living Mondays
The Healthy Home Economist- Monday Mania
The Prairie Homestead- Homestead Barn Hop
Simply Sugar and Gluten Free- Slightly Indulgent Tuesday
Real Food Forager- Fat Tuesday
Delicious Obsessions- Traditional Tuesdays
Kelly the Kitchen Kop- Real Food Wednesday
Natural Mothers Network-Seasonal Celebration Wednesday
The Nourishing Gourmet- Pennywise Platter

 

11 thoughts on “Healthy Gingerbread Latte and Peppermint Mocha (Vegan option)

  1. I’m going for the gingerbread latte option, it sounds just delicious! I am so delighted you popped by Seasonal Celebration and very much hope to see you this Wednesday for our holiday special linky:-) Rebecca x

    • Thanks so much Katherine! Please feel free to share them on your blog! I’m actually undergoing changing my blog to my own domain name (www.healyrealfoodvegetarian.com) so, if you’d like to link it back to that site it would be great since I’ll be switching over to that site soon! All the past recipes are there too.

  2. I like the idea of a gingerbread latte. I’m going to try it for my husband, who can’t tolerate chocolate. And for me :). Thanks for posting!
    –Eileen

Comments are closed.